Don’t Go Back to *Sleep*

28ab25b67094d294a1dcae19af25cbf1

“The breeze at dawn has secrets to tell you.
Don’t go back to sleep.
You must ask for what you really want.
Don’t go back to sleep.
People are going back and forth across the doorsill
where the two worlds touch.
The door is round and open.
Don’t go back to sleep”   – Rumi

It’s 7:30 AM and my alarm is blasting! I can’t tell if I’m dreaming of beeping noises or if I have managed again to unconsciously hit the snooze button for the third time. In my logical mind, I know that I am just delaying the inevitable. As I lie in bed battling the opposing forces within, I surrender to the power of my weaker side that provides me with a multitude of excuses. I just really need the extra sleep today … I didn’t fall asleep until really late ….  I can do yoga and meditation in the afternoon …  Breakfast is so unnecessary! It really only takes a couple of minutes to get through that uncomfortable wall of resistance that wants to keep me warm and cozy under the covers. This is the same voice that says it’s okay to skip a day of exercise or to indulge in the new flavor of Ben & Jerry’s. This voice in your head is a *LIAR* and doesn’t want to see you grow, evolve and change into the incredible person you were meant to be. This habit creates a snowball effect of feeling behind the eight ball all day long. It seems like the right decision in the moment but in the long term, this habit is not serving me in any way shape or form! When I get up before the alarm and immediately do my *morning routine*,  I feel 100% better and more productive throughout my entire day. Instead of being on the wrong end of the clock all day, I am ahead of the game and assume the role of the take action *Superhero* that I was born to be!

In the book As a Man Thinketh, James Allen comments on the importance of rising at an early hour: “Those whose awakening consciousness have become alive to its lofty possibilities, who are beginning to shake off the darkness of ignorance in which the world is enveloped, *rise before the stars* have ceased their vigil, and grappling with the darkness within their souls, strive by holy aspiration to perceive the *light of truth* while the unawakened world dreams on.” Allen also remarks that most important spiritual leaders, saints, and teachers of truth all intended to rise at an early hour. “Jesus habitually rose early and climbed the solitary mountains to engage in holy communion. Buddha always rose an hour before sunrise and engaged in meditation, and all his disciples were enjoined to the same. ”

Another very special visionary named *George Harrison* (lead guitarist/vocalist for the popular band The Beatles) used to rise every morning at 5:00 AM to engage in deep meditation and yoga to express his deep found devotion for Krishna. As George became increasingly spiritual and connected to the sitar, these practices became more and more important to him as he evolved into an incredibly devoted yogi.

If you choose to engage in these early morning rituals, just realize that you are not *alone*. Let me name a few well-known badasses who are also rising with the Sun: Michelle Obama, Apple CEO Tim Cook, Disney CEO Robert Iger, Oprah., Christie’s CEO Steve Murphy, and even Starbucks CEO Howard Schultz (probably with a nice hot skinny latte with a whisper of Madagascar cinnamon).

I’ve always been so enticed by the early morning hours. There is a beautiful *stillness* that you can’t find at any other time during the day. The rest of the world is sleeping but you are discovering the intuitive messages within your being and the planet.

So how do you want your morning to unfold? Are you throwing your buzzing alarm across the room in order to get that ten extra minutes of sleep? Or are you taking a powerful action step and setting the tone for a blissful day full of positive *intention*? It’s up to you! Just remember, you are the *creator* of your own Destiny. Everything in life comes back to the *daily choices* we make towards our future and remember, the breeze at dawn has *secrets* to tell you, DON’T GO BACK TO SLEEP!

Love,

*Katherine*

 

 

 

*http://herecomesthesunbook.blogspot.com/, http://www.businessinsider.com/successful-early-risers-2012-1?op=1

* Image from http://pinterest.com/thlco/

Leave a Reply

